WWS Calendar

“Garwin” Film Screening and Discussion to Feature Eminent Physicist Richard Garwin

Dec 10, 2014 04:30PM to 06:00PM
Robertson Hall
Bowl 016


Open to the Public
Richard Garwin, key scientist in designing the first hydrogen bomb * Richard Breyer, director of “Garwin" * Anand Kamalakar, producer/editor,“Garwin” * Ned Potter ’77, consulting “Garwin” producer/senior vice president, Finsbury

A screening of the documentary “Garwin,” a film about scientist Richard Garwin who helped to design the first successful hydrogen bomb, followed by a panel discussion with the scientist, will be held at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014, at the Woodrow Wilson School in Robertson Hall.

Garwin will be joined by Richard Breyer, “Garwin” director and producer and a professor of documentary film and history at Syracuse University; Anand Kamalakar, “Garwin” director and editor; and Ned Potter ’77, consulting “Garwin” producer and senior vice president at the communications firm Finsbury.

“Garwin” documents the scientist’s career path from his time at the IBM Watson Laboratory at Columbia University to the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (now the Los Alamos National Laboratory), where, beginning in 1950, he contributed to the design, development and testing of nuclear weapons, including the design of the first large thermonuclear test explosion, which was almost 1,000 times that of the bomb that destroyed Hiroshima. This test explosion was given the codename "Ivy Mike" and was detonated on Nov. 1, 1952, yielding nearly 12 megatons of explosive energy. The film highlights more than six decades of Garwin's work on technology – including the development of devices and tools for national reconnaissance – and public policy issues.

Garwin has advised every president from Dwight D. Eisenhower to Barack Obama. He was part of an elite group of scientists asked to help in crises from the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico to the Fukushima nuclear plant disaster in Japan. In 2002, Garwin received the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest honor in the fields of science and engineering.